Don’t Panic!

2016-oct-pic-dontpanic

Oh holy! November 1st is less than a week away. I have a title, a bare bones starting point and a few ideas of where to drive that are less than concrete. I need to get a move on my prepping!!!!

Breatheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee………………….

Yeah. Well, I finished my class. Hopefully, this one will be less work and stress-intensive. I need to do a little more than play with prepping if I want to take a stab at winning. I haven’t even started my Scrivener file. I have mostly been wandering around the internet, watching videos and reading other people’s blogs. Also, letting social media and the NaNo forum swallow me up. And you can’t forget that there is a ‘lection going on. The country as we know it seems to be teeter-tottering on a shaky fence. God bless America (we need you Big Guy!!)

It’s easy to waste use time on social media sites doing such things as adding buddies (nanowrimo), making up boards for your story (pinterest), following #nanowrimo (twitter and tumblr), taking misc. prepping pics (instagram), finding books and joining groups (goodreads) and hanging out virtually (secondlife) for RESEARCH ya know!

But it is coming down to the wire and more serious things must be addressed. I am making the official file for my NaNo story in Scrivener as usual tonight. I’ve already started logging things in the notebooks I bought at the Dollar Store for reference. I’ve done all of the formal things at the NaNoWriMo site such as creating my novel, the name and a short synopsis, getting my halo for donating and joining in on the forum fun pre-NaNo. I’ve also gathered most of my survival kit. I need to buckle down and work on the key parts of my novel such as a solid beginning and a solid ending, main characters’ names and personalities, setting and what the big plot twist is going to be.

I’m being half lazy, half pantser and also a good reason not to have it all planned out a month ahead of time. I think if I have it all planned out, I will get bored and think of another story. Even though I didn’t plan to wait until the last week, I guess it may be for the best. These last days spent breathing some life into the characters and story should get me excited again and chomping at the bit to …. ready, set, WRITE.

Leave a Reply

